Current Position :Home > Plenary Speakers


Yuri Kivshar

The Australian National University, Australia

All-dielectric nanophotonics: Magnetic light, Fano resonances, metasurfaces and nonlinear effects

Yuri S. Kivshar received a PhD degree in theoretical physics in 1984 from the Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering (Kharkov, Ukraine). From 1988 to 1993 he worked at different research centers in the USA, France, Spain, and Germany, and in 1993 he moved to the Australian National University where he established the Nonlinear Physics Center being currently head of the center and distinguished professor. His research interests include nonlinear photonics, optical solitons, nanophotonics, and metamaterials. He is Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, the Optical Society of America, the American Physical Society, and the Institute of Physics (UK), Deputy Director of the Center of Excellence for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS; Australia), and Research Director of Metamaterial Laboratory (Russia). He has received many prestigious international awards including the Lyle Medal of the Australian Academy of Science and the State Prize of Ukraine in Science and Technology.



Shanhui Fan

Stanford University, USA

Nanophotonic structures for information and energy applications: dynamic structures, and radiative cooling

Shanhui Fan is a Professor of Electrical Engineering, and the Director of the Edward L. Ginzton Laboratory, at the Stanford University. He received his Ph. D in 1997 in theoretical condensed matter physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). His research interests are in fundamental studies of solid state and photonic structures and devices, especially photonic crystals, plasmonics, and meta-materials, and applications of these structures in energy and information technology. He has published over 330 refereed journal articles, has given over 250 invited talks, and was granted 48 US patents. Prof. Fan received a National Science Foundation Career Award (2002), a David and Lucile Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering (2003), the National Academy of Sciences Award for Initiative in Research (2007), and the Adolph Lomb Medal from the Optical Society of America (2007). He is a Fellow of the IEEE, the American Physical Society, the Optical Society of America,  and the SPIE.



Susumu Noda

Kyoto University, Japan

Recent Progress in Manipulation of Photons by Photonic Crystals

Susumu Noda received B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan, in 1982, 1984, and 1991, respectively, all in electronics. In 2006, he has received an honorary degree from Gent University, Gent, Belgium. From 1984 to 1988, he was with the Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, and he joined Kyoto University in 1988. Currently he is a full Professor with the Department of Electronic Science and Engineering and a director of Photonics and Electronics Science and Engineering Center (PESEC), Kyoto University. His research interest covers physics and applications of photonic and quantum nanostructures including photonic crystals and quantum dots. He received several awards including the IBM Science Award (2000), the Japan Society of Applied Physics Achievement Award on Quantum Electronics (2005), and OSA Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize (2006), IEEE Fellow (2008), and IEEE Nanotechnology Pioneering Award (2009). From 2003 to 2005, he served as IEEE/LEOS Distinguished Lecturer. From 2007, he has served as a Chair of IEEE/Photonics Society Kansai Chapter.



Peter Nordlander

Rice University, USA

Quantum Plasmonics and Hot Electron Induced Processes

Peter Nordlander ( obtained his PhD degree at Chalmers University in Sweden in1985. After postdoctoral positions at IBM, AT&T Bell Laboratories, and Rutgers University, he joined the faculty at Rice University in 1989 where he is currently the Wiess Chair and Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Materials Science and Nanoengineering. He is a Visiting Professor at Peking University and at Wuhan University. His current research is on the theoretical modeling of Plasmonics and Nanophotonics phenomena. He is an associate editor of ACS Nano. He is a fellow of APS, AAAS, SPIE, and OSA and is the recipient of the the 2013 Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics, the 2014 Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids, and the 2015 R. W. Wood Prize in Optics. He is a Thomson-Reuters Highly Cited Researcher.





Home Call for papers Abstract submission Sign in/up Contact us